The Hon'ble Governor

Personal Introduction:-

Name : Acharya Devvrat
Father’s Name : Shri Lahiri Singh
Birth : January 18, 1959
Address : Gujarat Raj Bhavan, Sector-20, Gandhinagar, Gujarat.
Educational Qualification : Graduate, Post Graduate (Hindi, History), B.Ed., Diploma in Yogic Science, Doctor of Naturopathy and Yogic Sciences
Experience : 39 years experience in teaching and administration

Special Interests :-

  • Carrying out propaganda about nationalist thinking and Indian culture.
  • Lectures on Vedic values
  • Writing articles for newspapers and magazines
  • Motivating the youths about social and moral values
  • Organizing programmes on the Yoga and the Vedas
  • Organizing free camps on improvement in Cow breeding and organic farming
  • Setting up of the Chaman Vatika International Gurukul for Women at Ambala inspired by Shri Narendra Modiji, the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India’s campaign named ‘बेटी बचाओ बेटी पढ़ाओ’ in April 2015.
  • Promotion of Ayurveda, Naturopathy and Yoga.
  • Creation of pollution free society through tree plantation and yagna therapy.
  • Writing books

Specific Tasks :-

  • Worked as Principal at the Gurukul Kurukshetra from 1981 to July, 2015, Gurukul. The institution flourished during his time. Various works such as renovation of the entire Gurukul campus, renovation of all buildings within the campus, creation of modern facilities for study, sports, establishment of naturopathy clinics, development of gaushalas, carrying out organic farming in 175 acres of land, establishment of Arsh Mahavidyalaya, establishment of shooting range, etc. were undertaken during his supervision. During this period, Gurukul Kurukshetra became the first choice of students in large number.
  • Establishment of IIT, PMT and NDA academy.

Foreign Tours for the promotion of Indian culture and Vedic values :-

  • Switzerland, Netherlands, Holland, France, England, Italy, Vatican City, Nepal, Bhutan, Singapore, Mauritius, Thailand and America, etc.

Awards and Rewards :-

  • Awarded with ‘Bharat Jyoti Award’ ‘Certificate of Excellence’ Award and ‘Smt. Sarla Chopra’ award by the hands of Shri Bhishma Narayan Singh, Governor of Tamilnadu on 22nd August 2003 at a program organized by the India International Friendship Society, New Delhi.
  • Awarded American Medal of Honor on 21st August 2002 by the American Biographical Institute for immense contribution to the society.
  • Awarded “Certificate of Honor and Service of Rural India” on April 19, 2005 by the Confederation on Non Governmental Organisations (CNRI), New Delhi for the work for rural India.
  • Awarded ‘Janhit Shikshakshri Award’ in 2009 by former Chief Justice of India Justice P. N. Bhagwati in 2009 for rendering social service.
  • Awarded with “Samaj Seva Samman” on 8th May 2007 by Rishi Public Welfare Trust for rendering immense social service.
  • Awarded with Himotkarsh Rashtriya Ekatmakta Award at the hands of the former Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, Prof. Premkumar Dhumal for the all round progress of the Gurukul by the Himotkarsh Sahitya Sanskruti evam Jan Kalyan Parishad Una.
  • Awarded with Arya Sanstha Vyavasthapak Samman by the Paropkarini Sanstha, Ajmer.
  • Awarded with letter of appreciation by Shri S. K. Shrivastava, former Joint Secretary, Ministry of Consumer Affairs on 30th November 2007 for protection and preservation of moral values.
  • Awarded with ‘Akshay Urja Sanman’ on August 20, 2011 by Shri Harmohinder Singh Chadhdha, Minister of Renewable Energy.
  • Awarded with ‘Vishisht Seva Samman’ by the Sarvadeshik Arya Vir Dal.
  • Awarded with ‘Intellectual Personality (Vidvan Ratna)’ by the All-Intellectual Federation and Research Centre, Kurukshetra in August 2013.
  • Awarded with appreciation letter on August 12, 2011 for organizing camp for the promotion of Yoga and Naturopathy by Arya Samaj, Anand Nagar, Rajpura, Punjab.
  • Awarded with appreciation letter for continuous effort to popularize science and mathematics subjects by the Science Olympiad Foundation.
  • Awarded appreciation letter on April 30, 2012 for the development of Vedic values by the DAV College Managing Committee, New Delhi.
  • Awarded with appreciation letter by ‘Arya Samudra Radaur (Yamunanagar) for the development of Vedic values.
  • Awarded with ‘Vishisht Samman’ by ‘Arya Kendriya Sabha’ Karnal for remarkable contribution as a social reformer on 20th February 2010.
  • Awarded appreciation letter by Moody International Certification ISO 9001 : 2008 for quality management.
  • Awarded appreciation letter by the Red Cross Society, Kurukshetra for conducting blood donation camps.
  • Awarded appreciation letter by Dr. Bhukkal for providing timely support to the flood victims of Kurukshetra.

Memberships :-

  • Founder Chaman Vatika International Girls Gurukul, Ambala.
  • Appointed by the Haryana Government as member of the Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University.
  • Director, Swami Shraddhanand Yoga and Natural Medicine Center, Kurukshetra.
  • Officer, Arya Vidya Parishad Haryana
  • Former Honorary Member, Haryana State Child Welfare Council, Chandigarh.
  • Member, Haryana Gaushala Sangh, Rohtak
  • Former Member Haryana Gau Seva Commission, Chandigarh.
  • Former Minister, Indian Farmers Association, Haryana.
  • Member, Maharishi Dayanand ETT Research Centre, Ghadauli, Jind
  • Member, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya Advisory Committee Niwarasi, Kurukshetra
  • Guardian Member, All India Gurukul Sports Competition
  • Secretary, Shri Gopal Krishna Gaushala, Gurukul Kurukshetra.

Literary Works (Writing and Compilation) :-

  • Principal Editor, Monthly Journal ‘Gurukul Darshan’
  • The Priceless Way of Health : Natural Medicine (English and Hindi Version)
  • Stairs of Heaven (Panchmahayagna)
  • Ram Dialogue of Valmiki (translation)
  • The Glorious History of Gurukul Kurukshetra
  • Conservator, Gurukul’s Annual Monument

Aim and Purpose : -

  • To promote ancient glory of vedic culture and tradition and develop scientific understanding in human mind.

Present Designations :-

  • Governor of Gujarat from 22nd July 2019.
  • Chancellor, Gujarat University, Ahmedabad.
  • Chancellor, Hemchandracharya North Gujarat University, Patan.
  • Chancellor, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University, Ahmedabad.
  • Chancellor, Maharaja Krishnakumarsinhji Bhavnagar University, Bhavnagar.
  • Chancellor, Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar.
  • Chancellor, Saurashtra University, Rajkot.
  • Chancellor, Veer Narmad South Gujarat University, Surat.
  • Visitor, Maharaja Sayajirao University, Vadodara.
  • Chancellor, Shree Somnath Sanskrit University, Veraval.
  • Chancellor, Krantiguru Shyamji Krishna Verma Kutch University.
  • Chancellor, Gujarat Technological University, Ahmedabad.
  • Chancellor, Children’s University, Gandhinagar.
  • Chancellor, Indian Institute of Teacher Education, Gandhinagar.
  • Chancellor, Anand Agricultural University, Anand.
  • Chancellor, Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari.
  • Chancellor, Junagadh Agricultural University, Junagadh.
  • Chancellor, Sardarkrushinagar Dantiwada Agricultural University.
  • Chancellor, Kamdhenu University, Gandhinagar.
  • Chancellor, Gujarat Ayurved University, Jamnagar.
  • Chancellor, Birsa Munda Tribal University, Rajpipla, District Narmada.
  • Chancellor, Gujarat Organic Agricultural University, Camp, Gandhinagar.
  • President, Indian Red Cross Society, Gujarat State Branch, Ahmedabad.
  • President, Gujarat Cancer Society.
  • President, Hind Kusht Nivaran Sangh, Gujarat State Branch.
  • Patron, Gujarat State Bharat Scouts and Guides.
  • Chairman, Governor’s Social Welfare Fund.